Custom Search

LIST: 2018 Non-working Holidays in the Philippines

Great deals from airlines and hotels usually needs to be book long before your trip. For those who are employed, they need to plan ahead in order to file vacation leaves. The good thing though is that the holidays here in the Philippines for each year is being announced about 5 to 6 months ahead.
The Philippine flag. Image from Wikipedia under license CC BY-SA 3.0, Link

Last July 24, 2017, Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation No. 269 declaring certain dates in the upcoming year 2018 as non-working holiday in the entire country. Here's the list.

Regular Holidays 

  • January 1 (Monday) - New Year's Day
  • March 29 -  Maundy Thursday
  • March 30 - Good Friday
  • April 9 (Monday) - Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Valor)
  • May 1 (Tuesday) - Labor Day
  • June 12 (Tuesday) - Independence Day
  • August 27 (Last Monday of August) - National Heroes Day
  • November 30 (Friday) - Bonifacio Day
  • December 25 (Tuessday) -  Christmas Day
  • December 30 (Monday) - Rizal Day

Special Non-working Holidays

  • February 16 (Friday) - Chinese New Year
  • February 25 (Sunday) - EDSA Revolution Anniversary
  • March 31 - Black Saturday
  • August 21 (Tuesday) - Ninoy Aquino Day
  • November 1 (Thursday) - All Saints Day
  • November 2 (Friday) - All Souls Day
  • December 24 (Monday) - Day before Christmas Day
  • December 31 (Monday) - Last Day of the Year

Movable Holidays

  • Eid’l Fitr*
  • Eidul Adha*

*The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) shall determine the dates of these Muslim festivals based on the Islamic calendar.

Any additional holidays shall be declared through a separate presidential proclamation.

City, Municipal and Provincial Holidays

The local government may also have it's own set of holidays on top of the national holidays mentioned above. For example, some cities celebrate the date of its ascension from a municipality to a city. Some provinces also have their "foundation day" holidays. Please refer to your local government for more information about the exact dates of these holidays.

Did you find these information helpful? If yes, please hit the share button above and below this article. Please feel free to comment as well.

Comments