Philippine Holidays Schedule for Year 2010

250Image via Wikipedia
Planning ahead is a difficult job. For one simple reason…no knows the exact future! Yes, if you could only see few years from now or even just few days from now, then you can plan your activities well to maximize your benefit and avoid bad things that may happen.

Well, this article is not about fortune telling or any kind of divination, this article will just present to you the CURRENT schedule of national holidays in the Philippines. The schedule of holidays varies as the year goes so the dates presented here are not fixed. There are also region-specific holidays like provincial foundation days, festivals, and other events that may be declared by the local government. Also, please take note that December 24 and 31 are not really special occasions but usually declared as non-working day to give people time to prepare for the next day’s celebration.

The current government administration has a policy of moving some holidays to Monday. I don’t know if this policy will change after the election on May.

Even though many dates on this list will change, it is still advantageous to know the current schedule for us to plan whatever we want to do with those holidays. Also, I will update this schedule in case there are changes along the way. So, without further ado, here are the holidays for the coming year 2010 for the Philippines.

Schedule of Philippine Holidays for 2010

Friday, January 01, 2010                New Year's day
Thursday, April 01, 2010                Maundy Thursday
Friday, April 02, 2010                    Good Friday
Saturday, April 03, 2010                 Black Saturday
Friday, April 09, 2010                     Day of Valor
Saturday, May 01, 2010                  Labor Day
Monday, May 10, 2010                   National Election
Monday, June 14, 2010                   Independence Day
Monday, August 23, 2010               Ninoy Aquino Day
Monday, August 30, 2010               National Heroes Day
Friday, September 10, 2010             Eid Ul-Fitr
Wednesday, November 17, 2010    Eid Ul-Adha
Monday, November 01, 2010         All Saints Day
Monday, November 29, 2010         Bonifacio Day
Friday, December 24, 2010            Day before Xmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2010        Christmas day
Monday, December 27, 2010         Rizal Day
Friday, December 31, 2010            Day before New Year's Day

Tip for those who travel during holidays

If you want to save big amount of money on airplane tickets, book early. Cheap seats are also available through promos. Watch out for promos given by Philippine Airlines (PAL) and Cebu Pacific. Every year, Cebu Pacific, Philippines’ leading carrier, gives away hundreds of thousands of cheap seats ranging from 1 peso to 1000 pesos.

To know the latest news about these promos, always visit this blog, www.ideasdigest.blogspot.com. You can also subscribe via email by following the link below.


For real time notification, follow us on twitter and receive alerts whenever new articles (news about promos etc) are posted here.
Enhanced by Zemanta

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

5 Things I like with BPI Service

How to Apply for a BPI Savings Account?